OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Genetic Data?

Can anyone share an example of CDM documentation where they are pulling across genetic data. We are about to get some data here but I have zero experience with this data (aka never seen it first hand) and wanted to see some examples of how to handle it.

@rimma could you share anything you’ve done?

Additionally I know there many people who have been discussing this or have interest in this topic (e.g. @rimma and @ZPGoldman). I’m probably not the right person to spearhead this conversation (being that I don’t even actually have the data myself) but I wanted to at least tease up the idea of a group getting together to discuss.

Tagging @mvspeybr & @Christian_Reich

@ericaVoss:

The data aren’t that hard, really, as far as I can tell:

You got genetic abberations: Deletions, Inserts, with and without frameshift, duplications or higher copy numbers, translocations on the DNA level. All this is at a location, which is within a gene, wich is coding or not. You have expression on the mRNA level. All those have a likelihood, but usally they get called: a threshold gets applied, turning into a binary yes or no (at which point the abberation disappears from the data.

That’s about it.

The vocabulary has to know about the genes the abberation or variant is either in, or is affecting. And, if it is good, also the pathway or network information. But that’s a nice to have.

There is a standard to report the DNA-level abberations: VCF. There are also standards to report the actual sequence and mRNA-level changes, which are much simpler.

What do you exactly need?

@Christian_Reich - well I don’t really know what we need. We know we are getting genetic data and that is about it. I’m just looking for who I can poke when we have questions. :smile:

Erica,

If you find that drug-gene associations are relevant, the PharmGKB hosts
several downloadable files that associate various alleles with