OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Why is 'family source value' in the payer plan period table?

If the ‘family source value’ is a value that allows you to identify members of the same family, then it would be an attribute of the person. If the argument that a family membership can change in time, then take the same approach as for other person attributes such as location that may change with time, take the latest. I realize that coming from claims data, the ‘family source value’ may be defined at the plan level, but OMOP CDM is intended to abstract away those details and present the data in an analysis ready format.

I’m somewhat new to the OHDSI community, but I can speak from a plan-payer data perspective.

This source value is likely an internal family identifier such as an identifier for “subscriber” within the family. As such the “family” may change over time as the subscriber changes between spouses, or different dependents are covered over time as college students “age out” of their parents coverage for example.

Unfortunately, this is not always a static number within a single payer and will definitely change over time if you have different payer sources of data.

@DTorok, @pcochetti:

The family_source_value is a payer artifact and was added to capture the fact that several family members might be covered under the same plan, which may have an effect on outcome. And yes, those families cannot be taken as evidence for the true families, as there are all sorts of rules and personal decisions influencing who ends up in a family. And it is not guaranteed to be unique, so if you want to collect the family members you need to make sure it’s the same payer_source_value and plan_source_value.