OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Retaining multiple providers per claim line in claims data

Hello

I’m relatively new to OMOP and am currently modeling transformations to claims data. I’m stuck on how to address multiple providers on a claim line and would appreciate feedback.

Context on Claims Data

Healthcare claims data is generally structured in a Header/Line format. From OMOP’s documentation, it seems like the standard is to model using visit_occurence and visit_detail, with each distinct claim_header existing as a record in visit_occurrence and each claim line existing as a record in visit_detail.

An important feature of claims data is that each line contains multiple providers - for example Medicaid/Medicare claims from CMS have “billing” providers and “rendering” providers. There might also be other types - e.g., billing, rendering, referring, prescribing, attending, operating.

Problem Statement

Problem TLDR: it looks like claims data requires additional Foreign Keys for providers and/or a provider_type modifier.

OMOP data structures and ETL guidance suggest choosing the most important provider and using that to populate provider_id. That seems insufficient for claims research - many use cases require visibility to the different providers.

I am looking for the best way to model claims data into OMOP without losing information on the multiple providers tied to each claim line.
I would appreciate guidance on the best practice here. I have listed a few ideas below, but am open to guidance on other (better) approaches.

Ideas on Path Forward

A. Leave provider_id null on the visit_occurrence and visit_detail tables. Instead, use the fact_relationship table as a bridge table linking the fact (visit_detail) to the dimension (provider). The fact_relationship table would need to have a custom vocabulary describing the relationship type as {billing_provider, rendering_provider, referring_provider}.