OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Relating Adult Mental Disorder to Developmental Stage of Trauma

I am an independent Data Scientist with a PhD in Mathematical Psychology seeking data and collaboration for analyzing the relationship between early childhood trauma and adult mental disorders. My theoretical perspective on this work is that the current semantics describing mental disorders is too ambiguous to support a sustainable and effective Mental Health System. My approach to this problem is to relate the huge body of Experimental Psychology data to Mental Health data using a Human Information Processing Framework to characterize mental disorders. The components of this framework are attention (processor), memory (storage), sensing (raw impression), perception (labeling) and the cognitive strategies (software) that link these capabilities into a goal directed behavior. Mental disorders will be characterized in terms of mismatches between cognitive strategies and the information processing demands of a disorder-triggering situation. For example, can we predict adult bias to switch attention to the right brain (“dissociate”) during stress when that adult experienced trauma before age three (primarily right brain processing)?

Interesting.
The only problem that we mostly work with a clinical data level: diagnoses, procedures, lab tests standardized inventories and questionairies (when it comes to the assessment of mental health), so we never see the details you described.
First, we might run some characterization study trying to find patients with documented abuse or neglect in childhood, and see the prevalence of mental disorders in their adulthood. Might be pretty interesting if you include the socio-economic, race, country etc in the characterization.

If psychopathology is reduced to a list of commonsensically derived and simplified
operational features, further progress of pathogenetic research will be seriously