OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

OHDSI ETL builder on Dutch database

Dear all,

I am new to OHDSI! I followed the ‘get started steps’, but got stuck on the ETL process. I want use the ETL-CDMBuilder, but I saw that this can only be used for very specific databases. Since I have to create the ETL-CDM on a dutch database, I was wondering how I could do this.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Many thanks in advance,

Daphne

Hello Daphne,

Welcome to the OHDSI community.

The ETL process is different for each source database. Unfortunately there is not one pipeline that can transform different data sources to the OMOP CDM. There is an OHDSI tool, WhiteRabbit, that helps you to define the ETL of your data source.

The ETL-CDMBuilder is an example of an ETL implementation, implemented for a number of US (and UK) data sources. Another one, written in R, can be found here: https://github.com/ohdsi/etl-synthea.

Please also take a look at European Health Data and Evidence Network (EHDEN), we organise several data source calls to map European health records to the OMOP CDM. This links you to a SME who has OHDSI/OMOP expertise. I could bring you into contact with the right people.

Having and actively been implementing ETLs in three context - pre-hospital emergency medicine patient care records to OMOP, veterinary patients, and devices - my suggestion is to do it in steps. As many others have said on other threads to this question - there aren’t a universal ETL solution even when dealing with the same EHR system as everyone documents and customizes their EHR systems differently.