OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Mapping clinical symptoms and defining a new set of vocabulary for variants

Hi Everybody,

I am currently attempting to map keywords to standard concept names. As this is my first attempt, I would appreciate any suggestions from experts. I have some technical questions and would be grateful for your assistance in resolving them.

For the first point regarding clinical symptoms, I’m trying to map them to standard concept names from SNOMED as much as possible. However, not all of them can be mapped to SNOMED; some map to other vocabulary sets, such as Nebraska Lexicon, etc.

• Is it good practice to have concept names from different vocabulary sets? If not, what would you suggest?
  • Some symptoms can be mapped to the “Condition” domain, while others can be mapped to the “Observation” domain. In practice, I need to separate them into two tables: “condition_occurrence” and “observation”. Is this correct? If so, it seems a bit odd to separate clinical symptoms into two tables. If this is not the correct approach, could you please suggest an alternative?

For the second point regarding diagnosed genetic variants, there are around 8000 concept names in ClinVar.

• I would like to define new concept names. How could I register to get a new ID for a new vocabulary?
  • Which would be a better practice between using mixed concept names from ClinVar and self-defined vocabulary, or relying solely on self-defined vocabulary and defining relationships to ClinVar for the overlapping variants instead?

I would appreciate all comments. Thank you very much.

No problem with that, but for symptoms you should find everything in SNOMED (unless it is cancer). Can you not?

Which ones are observations?

Don’t. The standard vocabulary is OMOP Genomic. If you have Clinvar, it is very easy to convert using a tool called Koios. It typically takes NGVS notation. Do you have that?

Thank you very much for your reply.