OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

In hospital death

Hello,

I am new to the OMOP CDM, and I try to figure out how in hospital deaths should be indicated in contrast to deaths at home.
I could not find a location field or something similar in the DEATH table, there is the death_type_concept_id, but this field should be used for the source of information if I understood it correctly. Also, the cause of death has nothing to do with the location of the death.

Could you give me some directions on how this is meant to be mapped to the CDM v5.4?

Thank you very much!

Hi @HeideNei:

Welcome to the family.

Death, like any other event, is not linked to a location. But it is linked directly or indirectly through timing to the Visit. Granted, you could be discharged from the hospital and die at home in the evening. But it’s probably not that relevant, unless you want to study things like the effectiveness of code blue responses of a hospital. Do you?

It is relevant in the surveillance of healthcare associated infections.

I found the concept 4061268 death in hospital. So I could create a record in the OBSERVATION table with this concept without any value additionally to the record in the DEATH table. Or does this approach violate any guidelines?

Well, you only have an issue if the death is the same day as discharge. Any day after that - you know it is at home and not in the hospital. So, that’s good.

No, this doesn’t work. You can do that, but nobody is looking for such concept (except you who put it in). Death is in the DEATH table and only there.

But then what is this concept “death in hospital” for and how/when can it be used?