OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

How to store observations that do not need a start date?

I’m somewhat new to the OHDSI community and am working on performing an ETL using fake data I generated from Synthea. There is an SSN field in the patient table and I found out that concept ID would be 4162224 under the Observation domain. However, a start date is required. What would you put for that? The birthdate? You could have other patient attributes like marital status or religion which do not necessarily have start dates that you can identify. What do you do in these cases?

Thanks for your help.

In theory, one should find this out from the patient.
Practically(chose 1):

• the first encounter of said patient.
  • the closest encounter, of said patient, to the creation of the observation timestamp
  • a magic number that is outside the range of data. Commonly, this is done as ‘1900-01-01’ for start dates, as this is a SQL Server standard even though, when this was adopted, this had interference with real dates. ‘2999-12-31’ is what I use as a default end date. Many are using ‘2099-12-31’ as a default end date, but we are setting up a new ‘y2k’ problem by using a date so close.

As long as you are consistent, everything should be fine. I prefer the magic number myself as SQL can be written to know it is invalid.

Other dates that can be considered:

• dataset start date (earliest date possible across the entire dataset)
  • start date of each person’s first observation period

I am unaware of any “standard” way to make that choice, so I agree with Mark – as long as you’re consistent, it should be fine.

1 Like

This is a more precise way of thinking about my use of encounter, as an encounter may not have an observation, therefore not being in the OMOP data set.

@mccullen_j:

Two questions:

1. Why do you need the SSN in OMOP data? We are not treating individual patients, but derive statistical insights from populations? I would not put that in.