OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

How to map local specific terminology into standardized concepts?

Hi All,
I am new to the OMOP CDM and its standardized vocabulary. My background is in library science and I am working with computer programmers to develop our databases for academic medical research. I have a local specific terminology called “Ontario Health Insurance Number”. It is an essential field of the patient demographic table in my database. Am I correct in thinking that I should use the ATLAS to create a new concept set with two standardized SNOMED Concept IDs: “Ontario” + “Health Insurance Number”?
Many thanks for your help in advance!

Welcome to the OHDSI community, Cordelia He!
Perhaps you should start your OHDSI journey with this book. You can read about OHDSI’s open-source tools here (The Book of OHDSI). This book is intended for both OHDSI newcomers and veterans alike, and aims to be practical, providing the necessary theory and subsequent instructions on how to do things.
In this book you’ll read about mapping - the process to transform one source concept into a Standard one. All codes used in the source databases have to be translated to Standard Concepts.
For mapping we use such tool as Athena (Athena). You can see how Athena works in this video (10-Minute Tutorials: ATHENA (Michael Kallfelz, April 13 OHDSI Community Call) - YouTube).
Enjoy your journey and feel free to ask questions on the forum!

1 Like

Hi Varvara,

I have completed reading from Chapters 1-7 of The Book of OHDSI, watched the tutorials of ATHENA, ATLAS, 2016, 2019 and 2020 Symposium tutorials. At the moment, I have a basic concept about how to map a non-standardized source concept into a Standardized Concept.
Now I am in my “hands-on experience” stage. My challenge is: On my “Patient Demographics” table, there is a field called “Last Name”. On ATHENA, here are my search outcomes: