OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Extending OMOP For Surveillance Data

Hi there,

I’m extending OMOP model to cater for surveillance data, by creating new tables to accommodate the questions from the questionnaires. Is this the right way to go?

Have you considered using the survey_conduct table? I’m using this to manage and save survey responses.

Creating new tables to accommodate your needs is a valid approach if the survey_conduct table is not adequate. However, you should connect with other users that record questionnaire information to see if you can have a consensus on how to store the information. Then if there is a large enough need in the community for keeping questionnaire information and there is consensus on tables, documentation and implementation rules. It can be presented to the CDM Working Group.

I’m new to OMOP and we are faced with similar situation with hundreds of questions and thousands of responses, all of which are “Y”, “N”, or “NA”
I’m considering using some of the standard Y/N responses I’ve found in some of the , but not sure I can mix and match a custom concept with some of these responses.
My alternative is to create custom concepts for the questions, but 1 set of custom standard Y/N responses which I can then map to the question. Saves me from having to create a whole of responses.
Any guidance is appreciated!

@W0lfgang None of the OHDSI analytic programs are going to know anything about the custom concepts you will need to create to correspond to questions. If you use a CDM table such as Observation to store the question answer pairs, those records will be mostly ignored. However, the Data Quality Dashboard and Achilles may flag these records as erroneous for not being in the correct domain or missing foreign keys depending on your implementation. As for the response concepts, use existing concepts for Yes, No and NA mixing these with your custom concepts is fine.