OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

ETL-Synthea produces empty postgres tables

Hello everyone! I’m new to the OHDSI community so some of my terminology may be inaccurate, but I will try my best to describe what I’m trying to accomplish, the steps I’ve taken so far, and the issues I’m encountering.

The general goal is to generate synthetic patient data using Synthea, load that data into an OMOP CDM postgresql database, and then use OMOP2OBO mappings to query for patients with conditions and measurements that map to OBO ontological concepts (e.g., MONDO terms and HPO terms). This is intended to be a proof-of-concept for a larger clinical data processing workflow that I am prototyping.

I began by identifying prerequisites suggested by the ETL-Synthea “Step-by-step Example”

1. I installed and ran Synthea, making sure to checkout the 2.7.0 version branch and altering the configuration file to output csv files, as indicated in ETL-Synthea. Synthetic data was successfully generated for 5000 patients from Massachusetts. I can see csv tables populated for allergies, careplans, conditions, devices, encounters, imaging_studies, immunizations, medications, observations, organizations, patients, payer_transitions, payers, procedures, providers, and supplies within the synthea/output/csv directory.
  2. I downloaded the Vocabulary release v5.0 02-JUN-22 from Athena. I then extracted the compressed directory and ran the CPT4 utility using the cpt.bat file along with my personal UMLS API key. The files within this “vocabulary” directory include those cpt4 scripts, the readme, a directory for logs, and csv files for CONCEPT, CONCEPT_ANCESTOR, CONCEPT_CLASS, CONCEPT_CPT4, CONCEPT_RELATIONSHIP, CONCEPT_SYNONYM, DOMAIN, DRUG_STRENGTH, RELATIONSHIP, and VOCABULARY. The log file does not contain any warnings or errors after running cpt4.