OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Errors when deploying WebAPI with new settings.xml file

Hi there,

I’ve managed to deploy WebAPI on Tomcat successfully. But now i needed to use WebAPI security., I created a new war file with updated settings. Now, Flyway is reporting issues regarding existing tables in the WebAPI schema.

Is this a regular occurrence? If so, is it necessary to drop existing tables every time I redeploy WebAPI? Could you guide me on which specific tables require dropping?

Apologies for my inquiry; I’m new to the OHDSI ecosystem.

Thank you.
Alla

No, you shouldn’t need to drop tables between updates, in fact that is the supported use case. Is this the first time you ever restarted your WebAPI instance because if you’ve restarted WebAPI before you made the security configuration change, then you would have seen that Flyway noticed that all tables were up to date and did nothing. If that’s the case, then there must have been an additional change made to the configuration that led to the issue.

Can you report the specific error message you are receiving?

I’ve restarted the WebAPI a number of times before I made the changes to the settings/xml file, and it worked fine. But this was the first time that I had to re-build the war file and redeploy it.
Here is an example of messages I kept getting:

BlockquoteSQL State : 42P07
Error Code : 0
Line : 17
Statement : CREATE TABLE “webapi”.“schema_version” (
“installed_rank” INT NOT NULL,
“version” VARCHAR(50),
“description” VARCHAR(200) NOT NULL,
“type” VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL,
“script” VARCHAR(1000) NOT NULL,
“checksum” INTEGER,
“installed_by” VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL,
“installed_on” TIMESTAMP NOT NULL DEFAULT now(),
“execution_time” INTEGER NOT NULL,
“success” BOOLEAN NOT NULL
)

Blockquote
I recreated the schema and the WebAPI deployment was successful. But i just wanted to know if this is how it’s supposed to work.

Thank you for your help.
Alla