OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

CDM for waveform biosignal data

Hi, I am Jong-Hwan(John) at Ajou University in Korea. I am in the Ph.D. course for medical informatics. Especially I am studying the waveform biosignal such as ECG, blood pressure with machine learning methods.

Nowadays, unstructured medical data has taken an important role in the research area (genomic data, CT image, and biosignal, etc.)

Ajou university hospital has collected waveform biosignal data for 4 years and other hospitals started to collect raw biosignal also.

I think the demand for converting waveform biosignal data into CDM will arise and it is valuable to initiate a working group to discuss the CDM for waveform biosignal. Please leave a comment if you would like to join and have any opinion.

We described the first version of biosignal CDM format.
In URL, there is two files, one is description for data format. this contains the table format and file format for storing biosignal data. A table format is schema to save metadata in RDBMS system and file format is suggested file format to store raw waveform biosignal data. the other file is the list of concept id which can be used for biosignal but it is not perfect and should be gradually completed in the future. Thank you

URL : https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1Nnc-AGVPEWqJr8jXWsY1qwRLIGwmFqyS?usp=sharing

1 Like

Hi - thanks for drafting this first version. A few suggestions to consider:

1. Following other CDM table conventions, consider “biosignal_id” for the primary key
  2. Again following CDM conventions - add biosignal_source_value VARCHAR. I often use this field to capture the device model and serial number or unique device GUID so I can trace back to the source device used to generate the biosignal.