OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Capturing high-level information about source systems and the data they contributed to an OMOP CDM instance

Hi,

OMOP newbie here. I looked around for answers to my questions in various OHDSI sources and this forum, but did not yet quite find what I was looking for. Hence the new topic.

I am trying to understand how to capture high-level information about which source systems contributed data to a given OMOP CDM instance (in a context where multiple source systems are involved). Specifically, I am wondering if it is possible to capture (inside the OMOP CDM itself) answers to the following questions that CDM users might asks:

1. Is data from source system X (typically not OMOP itself) included in the OMOP CDM data?
  2. For which (clinical) time range has data from source system X been included in the OMOP CDM?
  3. Have all data elements from source system X been mapped to OMOP or are some missing/incomplete? Are some element only available from a certain point in (clinical) time onwards?
  4. Are there other facts about the data coming from source system X (possibly only for a specific time interval) that I should be aware of as an OMOP CDM user? This could e.g. potentially confusing changes at a specific point in time due to a changes in the code systems used in the source system, or data elements that have been imputed or set to dummy values in certain cases.

As a first step, it would be enough to capture this information as a single text blob for each source system, without linking to specific CDM tables or columns. If I understand correctly, the METADATA