OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Phenotype basics for beginners

Hello Everyone,

I am new to healthcare and trying to understand phenotype and how are they useful. By referring the OHDSI Book and posts in the forum, I was able to understand that phenotype is nothing but a set of criteria (clinical characteristics) to select patient of interest from our database. Phenotypes are usually implemented through query language (SQL) etc

Questions

1. Let’s say I would like to select patients who had obesity. I just query on condition table to extract patients who had condition = obesity.Based on my experience, I feel that phenotype/cohort criteria almost always differs for each project that we do, so then what’s the use of having a public version of phenotype algorithm “to identify patients with obesity” in repositories like eMERGE. Why are they made reusable and allowed to reproduce in multiple sites? Am failing to understand why it’s an active area of research and there are advances in phenotyping (when i think it’s all about writing SQL)?

2. I also read online that they could be used for clinical decision support. I guess it means identifying cohorts for our research through a set of criteria which can kind of help us figure out the differences between cases and controls. Am I right to understand this?

3. I read that phenotype are better approach to select patients for EHR system (EHR based phenotyping).
    Patient’s disease progression is seen through his EHR but they might biased and incomplete. How are phenotypes useful

4. I see that there are few phenotype which has multiple levels. Like 1st level looks for Obesity and 2nd level looks for medications related to Obesity and 3rd level looks for lab tests for Obesity etc.

Can someone help me with this?

@Akshay:

Nice post. You hit the nail on the head defining the problem space: