OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Is OMOP really a common data model?

Hello everyone,

I am new to OMOP and I have been trying to map things to OMOP. But this question continuously comes to my mind on how we are a common data model when anyone can use any concept_id for the same value. And we cannot have same vocabulary in the mapping that we are creating.

For example, If I am trying to work on type of visits, I can use the vocabulary Visit for linking to different visit types. There might be some which are not part of the same vocabulary but come under visit types. How do we combine these?

We dont even have a consistent vocabulary within our own OMOP data base. Some use SNOMED, others use LOINC.

Another example would be Gender which I am trying to map to OMOP. But I am using SNOMED as the vocabulary. If I use ICD, I would get a different concept_id. So when we are sharing data with other OMOP models how would these things match??

Nancy. OMOP is as CDM as it gets. You need to look at the standard_concept column in the concept table. If the value is not ‘S’ then you shouldn’t use it in your OMOP dataset. Non-standard concepts are there to help you map into OMOP.
If you a concept is non-standard, it should have a “Maps to” relationship in the concept_relationship table, and you should use that concept instead. There are only two standard gender concepts. Male and Female. Everything else should have a 0 (zero) in the concept_id field.

Thanks Guy. For our source system, we have 4 values for gender M /F /not known / doesnt want to specify. If I use the standard values, I would miss on adding the the other 2 options we have. Is there a way around that?

Ooh. That is a very old topic indeed. The “official” answer is:
<channelling @Christian_Reich >
Does it matter? Would any analysis of the data be impacted in anyway if you could distinguish “unknown” from “did not specify?” (or “refused to disclose” or a number of other such concepts).