OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Potential vulnerability in Atlas

Hey,
I got this from out IT crew

Log4Shell: RCE 0-day exploit found in log4j, a popular Java logging package
Atlas is using log4j for logging recomende to apply patch

Im not an expert in security, Atlas developers may have fix this already.
Im just forwarding this in case it can protect someone.

Actually, I would like to generalize @Javier 's query about log4j – in addition to Atlas, are there any other OHDSI tools that also use this infrastructure. And for all tools who are using log4j, what needs to happen to fix this vulnerability in new build?

According to my knowledge Log4j2 is not used in ATLAS/WebAPI. CVE-2021-44228 says about Log4j v2.x, while WebAPI still uses Log4j v1.x

Hi, i found the following which also describes the (smaller) potential in Version 1 of log4j.

“As log4j 1.x does NOT offer a JNDI look up mechanism at the message level, it does NOT suffer from CVE-2021-44228. However, log4j 1.x comes with JMSAppender which will perform a JNDI lookup if enabled in log4j’s configuration file, i.e. log4j.properties or log4j.xml. Thus, an attacker who already has write access to an application’s log4j configuration file can trigger an RCE attack whenever log4j 1.x reads a corrupt/malicious configuration file.” [1]

[1] SLF4J

I think in this case attacker will have access to more attractive things :frowning:

You are right, but for the sake of completness :wink:

I wanted to provide some additional information on Log4Shell and the OHDSI software. As mentioned by @Konstantin_Yaroshove Log4j v2 is not used by the software stack inclusive of Atlas/WebAPI/Hades so the good news is that the Log4Shell vulnerability does not impact us. There are known issues with Log4j v1 as noted by @Mirko but these are less severe when compared to the Log4Shell vulnerability.