OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Alpha blockers associated with >50% reduction in mortality in our retrospective study

hi OHDSI - i wanted to bring to your attention our pre-print:

I am very new to observational health data, and OHDSI,
several members of OHDSI have been kind enough to provide us with some guidance,
including @msuchard @aki-nishimura.
our study protocol continues to improve, to bring it up to OHDSI standards.
as it stands, our retrospective analysis has been sufficient to:

1. lead to johns hopkins (#1 hospital in the world) start a clinical inpatient trial using alpha blockers, the first trial approved at JHH
  2. get FDA approval to run a multi-center trial

BUT, we don’t have any evidence from COVID patients yet,
and we have a study that could be improved and scaled by this community even in pneumonia and acute respiratory success.
we have been fortunate enough to raise money to support these efforts,
so we are now actively looking for partners in both the COVID data analysis plan/implementation,
and the actual clinical trial partnerships.

we are also talking with a number of other funders, pharma, etc., and getting more support/encouragement as existing potential remedies seem to be falling.

If anybody is interested, please let me know.

many thanks for all your guidance, openness, and leadership throughout this crisis.

1 Like

Thanks for that. I’m very interested in using statistical analysis to find effective drugs against COVID-19.

By the way, why did you choose to publish this on arxiv.org instead of medrxiv.org? The latter is reviewed by large numbers of people both in the medical field and not in regards to COVID-19, so your study would have gotten much more notice if it had been on medrxiv.org

Robert Clark

hey @Robert_Clark fun to talk to you on multiple threads :slight_smile:
for reference, the following links are live, all of which we thought would have gotten some notice: