OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Opioid use disorder/substance use disorder

Hello,

I am a federally funded investigator who has a background in quantitative sciences and also a board certified addiction psychiatrist. I am looking for collaborators in the OHDSI program who have an interest in collaborating on this topic.

Please E-mail me at:
xsl2101@columbia.edu

-Sean

Sean X. Luo, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry

Division on Substance Use Disorders

Department of Psychiatry

Columbia University

Room 3624

1051 Riverside Dr., Unit 66

New York, NY 10032

(646) 774-6144

xsl2101@cumc.columbia.edu

Hi Sean,

I am a postdoc at CUMC who would be happy to help you with this. I’ve sent you an e-mail and look forward to future correspondence.

-Matt

+1 on this!

I might suggest engaging with your neighbors at Mt. Sinai. Joseph Finkelstein’s team is working on converting opioid treatment data. Not sure he’s on the OHDSI Forum – but can connect dots. @mattspotnitz you know how to get ahold of me if you need it. :slight_smile:

I’m sure many people are aware of this already but there has been real difficulty at my institution doing research on opioid use because of redaction. We use claims data and any claims with a Substance Use Disorder code are currently being redacted and are very difficult to access. It is a major barrier described in the paper “Long-Term Implications Of A Short-Term Policy: Redacting Substance Abuse Data” by Andrea M. Austin and others. There is also state by state variation in how the federal law requiring the redaction is interpreted and applied.

I’m interested as I’m a psychiatrist by training. And I’m leading OHDSI Vocabulary team, so I can be helpful in terminology questions.
So, please, count me in, although I’m not sure how much time can I spend on this.