OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Mapping Anesthesia Procedures to SNOMED

I’m an ETL developer working to map our source data into OMOP.

Our Anesthesia Procedures use local codes, not any standard vocabulary. I’ve tried using USAGI to map them, but our codes are highly abbreviated, and USAGI’s pattern matching isn’t helping any.

I need do get our local content experts to help map these codes to SNOMED (or other standard) vocabulary. What I’d like to find is a list of all anesthesia procedures in the concept table. I can query for domain, vocabulary_id, etc,

SELECT concept_id, concept_name, domain_id, vocabulary_id, concept_class_id,
standard_concept, concept_code, valid_start_date, valid_end_date, invalid_reason
FROM OMOP.concept
WHERE (vocabulary_id = ‘snomed’) AND (domain_id = ‘procedure’) AND (standard_concept = ‘s’)

but that leaves me with all procedures, not just anesthesia.

Like I said, I’m an ETL developer, so the only granularity I’m usually interested in is the one at our EHR level. I really only use the relationship table to map non-standard to standard codes. I don’t have any expertise in pulling data out, especially at a lower granularity.

Can someone help me with the JOINS to produce a list of just anesthesia procedures?

Much appreciated.

Hello, @roger.carlson

This task looks like classic custom mapping task.

If you want to get all the anesthesia procedures:

1. Check all the descendants of Procedure related to anesthesia and sedation, concept_id: 4161405 and Injection of anesthetic agent, concept_id: 42538249
    To do this, query concept_ancestor table with:
SELECT ca.ancestor_concept_id, c.*, ca.min_levels_of_separation, ca.max_levels_of_separation
FROM OMOP.concept_ancestor ca
JOIN OMOP.concept c
ON ca.descendant_concept_id = c.concept_id
WHERE ancestor_concept_id = 4161405 OR ancestor_concept_id = 42538249
ORDER BY ancestor_concept_id, min_levels_of_separation, max_levels_of_separation;