OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

File based OMOP implementation in multinational PASS study

Hi
I am relatively new to the CDM domain in general and OMOP in particular. I am involved in setting up a Post Authorization Safety Study covering a handful of european countries. We will be looking at specific drug exposures and outcomes. Data sources from each country vary a lot in both number, structure, coding and internal linkage. A common data model is definately needed, and OMOP may be a great choice. Due to legal restrictions, analysis for some countries will have to be analyzed locally, while other countries data can be gathered centrally. In either case, analytics infrastructures in most places dictate that data storage, representation and analytics will have to be based on datafiles, rather than a database implementation.

So while it is probably possible to do a file based transformation into the OMOP CDM table structure, I am uncertain of how much benefit I will get from it. I am especially thinking of the deep integrations with the OMOP vocabulary. My alternative would be to use the OMOP table definitions and relations as a guideline to a simpler and more study focused CDM model.

Any experience or thoughts you can share are appreciated. Including experience with estimating the amount of work involved. Transformation will be performed in collaboration with the local data experts and some degree of local datamanagement expertise

Regards
Peter Bjødstrup Jensen
University of Southern Denmark