OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

ETL tools for static clinical studies

Hello. I’m working on a set of mappings and related implementation for representing clinical study data in OHDSI. I’m interested in what tools people have used to implement the mapping. Since I’ll be doing ETL for a number of studies, I’d like to represent the mappings in a table rather than code. I hope to win both in terms of documentation and reduced duplication of effort. My background is in software development, though this is the closest I’ve gotten to ETL work. I’m toying with a little bit of Python and SQL to get my arm around this. At the same time I’m reading about tools like Kettle to see if there is some great leverage to be found there. I’ve also had a look at some of the documentation for the Janssen CDM v5 sample ETL. While my respect for the logical mapping is growing, what are people using to actually move the data?

thanks
-Chris

@CRoeder:

Maybe it’s a good thing that “My background is in software development, though this is the closest I’ve gotten to ETL work”. Because many people have talked about it, but nobody has actually done anything. This should probably be a subject for the CDM Working Group. Why don’t you write up a simple proposal, add it to the list and collect like-minded people to help you? And you will have a lot of overlap with the folks working on surveys, and you may want to steal a lot of the ideas from ADaM.

As far as I can tell, you would need to model aspects of clinical trials that the current OMOP CDM doesn’t have:

• Study design
  • Randomization
  • Vocabulary for experimental treatments (most such drugs are not on the market yet, and therefore have no concept)
  • CRFs and the fact that data are recorded even when they are missing or negative. The current CDM model doesn’t do that.

(Still not scared?) :smile:

Christian,

Thanks for the detailed reply.