OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Dilemma of presenting surgery non-standard data to OMOP model

Hi All,

I’m new in OMOP solution, and as the first use case to implement into the OMOP model I use surgery data.

As far as I learned, I use the Procedure_Occurrence for surgery start and end time, type and other information.

There is additional information that I thought of representing in an external table, like: Time of anesthesia, time of first cut, type of anesthesia, also information during plan phase of the surgery like surgery type, planned date and time, etc.

The general question is if it recommended using external ‘subject dedicate tables’ and if those tables can be representing in ATHNA and ATLAS applications?

Thanks in advance,

Guy

1 Like

@guy_livne:

Well, right now there is no end datetime. If you have that kind of granularity you should submit an issue so we can consider adding it.

Currently, that is it’s own procedure record. Assuming there is only one surgery per day no special linkage between anesthesia and surgery is needed. If you think this is too much of a simplification let us know in the same issue.

Same.

We don’t have that. If you have detailed information like this also bring it up.

We generally don’t store plans, only actions. Again, if you have a use case bring it up and we should think how to support it.

Hi @guy_livne, Hi @Christian_Reich

I face the same difficulties with integrating anesthesia procedure:
An anesthesia procedure is a procedure itself, linked to one or more surgical procedures.
In one day there may have one or more anesthesia procedure (as a patient may be re-operated).

During the anesthesia procedure, some events occurred : incision, induction, end of surgery, end of anesthesia, intubation, extubation, liver clamping … all these events occured around the anesthesia/surgical procedure, and their timings is important in the way they impact analyses of measurements.