OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Converting User-Defined Data Dictionaries into the OMOP CDM

Hi all,

I’m very new to OMOP so I apologize if this is a very basic problem that I haven’t figured out how to solve.

I’m working on a project that hopes to harmonize disparate data dictionaries into one standardized model (OMOP CDM). I’ve been looking up ways to do the data mapping into the CDM (e.g. White Rabbit, Rabbit in a Hat, Usagi, etc.) but I can’t seem to figure out how to convert user-defined data dictionary variables into standard OMOP CDM format. These data dictionaries from researchers are often in flat files (Excel) and each table in the spreadsheet can be converted into a CSV file.

Is there a way to map these (even with some restructuring of the source data file) into the CDM via a script or platform of some sort instead of having to manually create tables by hand?

If there’s a way to use White Rabbit and Rabbit in a Hat to do the mapping I’m just not sure how the CSV files should be formatted so that it is scanned properly and a Scan Report is generated successfully.

I appreciate any feedback or additional resources I should look into to be more familiarized. Thanks so much!

@lecksicon:

(Funny spelling of lexicon, that is).

It’s not quite clear what you mean by “harmonize disparate data dictionaries into one standardized model (OMOP CDM)”. There are two aspects to this: Converting the actual patient data into the OMOP CDM, or mapping the coding scheme (or verbatim data fields if the data are not coded) to the Standardized Vocabulary. This is explained roughly here.

The “rabbits” are for doing the former. The latter is not that straightforward, but there is a very useful tool called Usagi that can help you if all you have are description strings.

Let us know which problem you are trying to solve.