OHDSI Home | Forums | Wiki | Github

Back from the archived section: Algorithmic Phenotype Working Group

Hello All,

As the title specifies, we are bringing back the old Phenotyping WG as a more focused Algorithmic Phenotype WG. The main focus of this WG will be to align efforts on probabilistic phenotyping work done within the OHDSI community. This group is separate, but works in parallel to the Gold Standard Phenotype library WG led by @apotvien

Everybody is welcomed to join, so let’s see a raise of hands to whomever wants to be part of this WG and is interested in attending the monthly calls. Once we have some quorum, we can start planning the class based on people’s schedules.

Don’t be shy, and join the probabilistic side :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi - I’m relatively new to this topic - can you provide an overview regarding what you mean by “Algorithmic” - does it include various methods and approaches to predicting if a patient belongs to a phenotype? It would help me understand if I can contribute.

Thanks,
MK

Thank you. I am interested, Sir :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,
Thanks for the initiative. I’m relatively new to the OHDSI.
I’m interested to join “the probabilistic side”.

But I am also interested to know more about the “probabilistic phenotype” - is it a vector for each patient that assigns normalized probabilities for each patient to have one particular type of phenotype ?

Thank you !
–Subhajit

Count me in please.

Sorry for my late response, I had forum notifications turned off. Its using a ML model to define phenotypes for patients, assigning them a probability for a given phenotype. This differs from the traditional rule-based definitions, in which a person has or does not have (binary outcome) a given phenotype.

Hello,

Yes, exactly, it is to use ML models that assign probabilities rather than rules that give you a yes or no membership. More details can be found here: https://www.annualreviews.org/doi/10.1146/annurev-biodatasci-080917-013315